skip to content

EPSRC IRC in Targeted Delivery for Hard-to-Treat Cancers


The EPSRC funding for the IRC, £10m over six years, enables a longer-term, interdisciplinary research programme which comprises 18 principal investigators working across five founding universities, Cambridge, Imperial, UCL, Glasgow, Birmingham and, more recently, Nottingham, Liverpool and Strathclyde. Our shared aim is to develop and validate drug-delivery technologies to support the work of clinicians and improve survival rates for patients.



Professor George Malliaras
Director of the IRC and Prince Philip Professor of Technology, 
University of Cambridge



Professor Cameron Alexander
Professor of Polymer Therapeutics
University of Nottingham

Dr Ronan Daly
Associate Professor in the Science and Technology of Manufacturing
University of Cambridge

Dr David Fairen-Jimenez
Royal Society University Research Fellow and Reader in Molecular Engineering
University of Cambridge

Professor Ross Forgan  
Professor of Supramolecular and Materials Chemistry
University of Glasgow

Dr Ljiljana Fruk  
Reader in BioNano Engineering
University of Cambridge

Professor Simon Gaisford
Professor of Pharmaceutics 
University College London

Professor Rylie Green
Professor of Polymer Bioelectronics
Imperial College London

Dr Su Metcalfe
Senior Research Associate
Department of Clinical Neurosciences
University of Cambridge

Dr Ruman Rahman
Associate Professor of Molecular Neuro-Oncology
University of Nottingham

Professor Oren Scherman
Professor of Supramolecular and Polymer Chemistry
University of Cambridge

Dr Yan Yan Shery Huang
Associate Professor and University Lecturer in Bioengineering 
University of Cambridge

Professor Judy Coulson
Professor of Molecular Physiology & Cell Signalling
University of Liverpool

Dr Clare Hoskins
School of Pure and Applied Chemistry
University of Strathclyde, Glasgow

Ryan Mathew  Associate Professor (Clinical) University of Leeds

Clinical Leads

Professor Richard Gilbertson
Head of Department of Oncology and Director of the CRUK Cambridge Centre
University of Cambridge

Professor Duncan Jodrell
Professor of Cancer Therapeutics and Director of the Cancer UK Cambridge Institute
University of Cambridge

Professor Stefan Marciniak
Professor of Respiratory Science and Honorary Consultant Respiratory Physician at Addenbrooke’s and Papworth Hospitals 
University of Cambridge

Professor Colin Watts
Professor of Neurosurgery and lead for the Brain Cancer Programme
University of Birmingham

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr Sarah Barnett, Institute of Systems, Molecular and Integrative Biology,  University of Liverpool

Dr Robert Cavanagh, School of Medicine, University of Nottingham

Dr Moe Elbadawi, School of Pharmacy, University College London

Dr Giulia Emanuelli, Cambridge Institute for Medical Research, University of Cambridge

Dr Arvin Eskandari, School of Chemistry, University of Glasgow

Dr Alina Finch, Institute of Cancer and Genomic Sciences, University of Birmingham

Dr Niamh Fox, Institute of Manufacturing, University of Cambridge

Dr Aaron Lee, Department of Bioengineering, Imperial College London

Dr Sergio Mercado Argandona, Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, University of Cambridge

Dr Adeolu Oluwasanmi, Department of Pure and Applied Chemistry, University of Strathclyde 

Dr Etienne Rognin, Institute of Manufacturing, University of Cambridge

Dr Xudong Tao, Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge

Dr Qingxin Zhang, Institute of Manufacturing, University of Cambridge

Core Team

Claire McGlynn
IRC Programme Manager
University of Cambridge

Dr Bea Kiddle
Translational Research Project Manager

Kirsty Shepherd
IRC Programme Administrator
University of Cambridge